Ripon Motor Sport Club
"If in doubt, flat out"
T HEWICK  RIPONIAN RALLY 19-02-2017.jpeg

Riponian Stages


Riponian 2020 is scheduled for Sunday 9th February


Plans are progressing well for the 2020 Riponian, where we will once again be making use of road closure legislation, and to facilitate this application has just been made to North Yorkshire Highways for the closures we are seeking.

You will note we are referring to closures, back in February we closed a small section of highway to link the two forests on Wass Moor, but for 2020 we are planning additional closures such that we will only have three stages run twice to give just over 40 stage miles.

We will again be running 2-wheel drive cars first on the road, seeded in reverse order of performance which appeared to be well favoured back in February

2020 forestry charges are still to be decided but we hope that any increase still allows the event to offer an attractive entry fee when regulations are published in early December.

Further updates will appear here as they become available




Riponian Previous Results

Previous Winners and links to full results (where available) below:

Year            Driver                                Navigator/Co Driver             Car                                Road/Stage                         Web Results

2019 Matt Edwards John Millington Ford Fiesta R5

2017             Stephen Petch                Michael Wilkinson                  Ford Fiesta                          S                                  2017 Results

2016            Charles Payne                 Carl Williamson                       Ford Fiesta                          S                                  2016 Results

2015             Charles Payne                Andrew Roughead                 Ford Fiesta                          S                                   2015 Results

2014              Peter Stephenson         Ian Windress                            Ford Escort Cosworth       S                                   2014 Results

2013              Charlie Payne                Craig Thorley                            Ford Focus WRC              S                                   2013 Results

2012              Charlie Payne                Craig Thorley                           Ford Focus WRC               S                                    2012 Results

2011               Charlie Payne                Craig Thorley                           Ford Focus WRC               S                                    2011 Results

2010              Paul Bird                        Kirsty Riddick                           Ford Focus WRC               S                                    2010 Results

2009             Charlie Payne                Craig Thorley                           Mitsubishi Lancer WRC    S                                    2009 Results

2008             Tim Pearcey                   Sebastian Marshall                  Mitsubishi Lancer GpN    S                                    2008 Results

2006             Kevin Proctor                 Mike Gilby                                 Subaru Impreza               S                                    

2005             Barry Johnson               Stuart Merry                              Subaru Impreza               S                

2004             Kevin Proctor                 Mike Gilby                                 Subaru Impreza               S 

2002             Mike Perrott                   Gary Mansell                             Ford Escort WRC             S                                      2002 Results

2001              Charlie Payne                Craig Thorley                            Mitsubishi Lancer             S                                      2001 Results

2000             Charlie Payne                Craig Thorley                            Mitsubishi Lancer             S                                      2000 Results

1999              Matt Yeadon                   Richard Shores                         Escort Cosworth              S

1998              Graham Middleton         'Plug' Pulleyn                             Ford Escort                      S

1997               Brain Lyall                       John Bennie                              Subaru Legacy                S

1996               Snowed Off!

1995               Steve Smith                    Brian Hughes                             Lancia Integrale Evo      S

1994               Sean Garner                   Dave Prattley                             Escort Cosworth             S

1993               Charlie Payne                 Hugh Edwards                           Sierra Cosworth             S

1992               Charlie Payne                 A Hall                                          Sierra Cosworth             S

1988               Steve Smith                    Christine Coward                        Ford Escort                    S

1981                Pete Smith                      Dave Jobling                               Ford Escort                    S

1980               Bob Bean                        Alan Greenwood                        Ford Escort                    S

1977               Dennis Pelling                 Dave Jobling                               Ford Escort                    S

1976               Steve Smith                     Adrian Dixon                               Ford Escort                    S

1975               Geoff Birkett                    Dave Orrick                                Opel Kadett                    R

1974               Cancelled (fuel crisis) 

1973               John Ellis                          Dennis Trowbridge                    Ford Escort TC              R

1972               Jack Tordoff                     Brian Marchant                           SAAB                             R

1971                Jack Tordoff                     Brian Marchant                           SAAB                             R

1969               Keith Bickerdyke             Tony Viles                                    Ford Escort                   R